Fervent apologies are in order for my prolonged absence from the blogosphere. The reasons are many, but I’ll posit a few for you.

Time. It really takes time to read through a lot of stuff, filter out what I think are poignant and meaningful (or ridiculous and entertaining) links that sum up nicely what I’d like to say. This also leads to the next point, which is…

Lack Of Brain. Putting one of these posts together involves writing in what I’d like to describe as a collage technique. All these links sit somewhere and it’s my calling to try to tie them together somehow. The longer the post, the more linguistic and narrative acrobatics I have to perform. Sometimes it just gets too daunting. There’s also…

Technology. I am currently laboring under the weight of having a PC that is past its use-by date. That was the primary reason for the last post going to hell in a handbasket. The thing crashed during mid-publish and I lost most of it. I’d been waiting Windows7 to come out before I took the step of purchasing the next machine but …

Personal Events. Yes, I have a life. Most of it seems to involve work on some level, but I also try to have some free time as well. In that time I like to do stuff that may involve venturing outside. I have an upcoming trip back home to sunny Australia that I am looking forward to in no small way. There’s also…

Sickness. One of the benefits of working with small children is I get exposed to a lot of viruses, so my immune system (in the words of the almighty George Carlin) is always getting a good workout. I am currently experiencing my third, perhaps my fourth cold for the winter thus far – and it’s only December 2nd. That tends to play havoc with my brain (see above) so I sit in front of the screen and end up preferring to be entertained mindlessly rather than try to formulate something approaching a distinct intellectual or rational thought.

Like I said; apologies. I’ll try to be a good boy in future.

